Nepali Times Asian Paints
From The Nepali Press
Government vehicles misused

People in high political, administrative and judicial posts are known to misuse government vehicles. There are former prime ministers, former chief justice of the Supreme Court, former ministers, former members of parliament and other high officials among those misusing vehicles.
The law allows special classes of government officials and members of constitutional bodies to import private vehicles under a reduced duty scheme but those who use this facility are not allowed to use government vehicles anymore. But there are still many government officials who have imported vehicles, but continue to use government vehicles.
Among them is a list of 101 justices, some of whom are Khilraj Regmi, Ramprasad Shrestha, Harijung Sijapati, Arjunprasad Singh, Minbahadur Rayamajhi. Others include the National Planning Commission vice-chairman Prithvi Raj Ligal, members Rameshananda Baidya, Harishankar Tripathi, and Yadav Lal Shrestha, secretaries Govinda Raj Bhatta, Rewati Raman Pokhrel, Khagendra Basnyat, and the Public Service Commission's Vedvyas Chettri. These individuals have not given up their government benefits even after importing their own vehicles.
Then there are former officials yet to give up the government vehicles that were made available to them while they were in office. This includes former prime minister Sher Bahadur Deuba, and Lokendra Bahadur Chand, former chief justices Vishwanath Upadhya, Trilok Pratap Rana, and Om Bhakta Shrestha.
According to the sub-committee under the governance committee formed by Parliament, former prime ministers Sher Bahadur Deuba and Lokendra Bahadur Chand have not returned a jeep and a motorcycle respectively.
There are more of those who are no longer in government but are still using vehicles like former minister Devendra Raj Kandel, Mohamad Aftab Aalam, Bhakta Bahadur Rokaya, Ananda Prasad Dungana, Dipak Prakash Banskota, and Ram Krishna Acharya. Likewise motorcycles issued to Prakash Chandra Lohani, Rajiv Parajuli, and Gajendra Narayan Singh have not been returned.
The study by the national governance management committee authorised MP Arjun Junga Bahadur Singh to investigate the number of vehicles being misused. The report also stated that former minister Govinda Nath Upreti and Balaram Gharti Magar have not returned a motorcycle each while Arjun Narsingh KC is still going around in a government jeep. According to a member of the sub-committee, former minister Purna Bahadur Khadka, former deputy prime minister Shailaja Acharya, former minister and presently public accounts committee member Hridyesh Tripathi, were found to have misused government-owned vehicles. An unnamed former water resources minister is reportedly making use of 20 vehicles, 18 of which belong to the Irrigation Department.

(11 JAN 2013 - 17 JAN 2013)