Nepali Times Asian Paints

Back to Main Page

Federalism deal signed

Saturday, August 8th, 2015

MJF (D) Chair Bijaya Kumar Gachhadar and UML Chair KP Oli shake hands in front of NC President Sushil Koirala, UCPN (Maoist) Chair Pushpa Kamal Dahal and the CPDCC Chair Baburam Bhattarai after signing a midnight deal on the six-province federalism model. Photo: Bikram Rai

Four major political parties have struck a fresh deal on demarcation of federal provinces.

After days of closed-door negotiations, the NC, the UML, the UCPN (M) and the MJF (D) on Saturday agreed to carve out six federal provinces in Nepal.

The NC President Sushil Koirala, the UML Chair KP Oli, the UCPN (M) Chair Pushpa Kamal Dahal and the MJF (D) Chair Bijaya Kumar Gachhadar signed the deal just before the midnight.

Top leaders of the four major parties resolved the dispute over the five Tarai districts by including Sunsari, Morang and Jhapa districts in the eastern province and Kailali and Kanchanpur in the far-western province.

The MJF (D) Chair Bijaya Kumar Gachhadar was apparently unhappy with demarcation of eastern and far-western provinces, but the top leaders persuaded him to move forward by writing a note of dissent. However, the MJF (D) leaders like Jitendra Dev and Ram Chandra Chaudhary have rejected the deal.

The new deal will be forwarded to the Constituent Assembly (CA)’s Constitutional, Political Dialogue and Consensus Committee (CPDCC). The CPDCC will revised the draft constitution based on this deal and table in the CA meeting scheduled for Sunday.

111As per the new deal, the first province includes all districts of Koshi and Mechi zone as well as Solukhumbu, Okhaldhunga, Udayapur and Khotang districts of Sagarmatha zone.

The second province will have eight Tarai districts between Parsa and Saptari.

The third province will have all districts of Bagmati zone beside Makawanpur and Chitwan of Narayani zone and Sindhuli, Dolakha and Ramechhap of Janakpur zone.

The fourth province will have all districts of Gandaki, Dhaulagiri and part of Nawalparasi district. The part of Nawalparasi district east of Daunne will be included in this province.

The fifth province will have all districts of Rapti and Lumbini beside Banke and Bardiya of Bheri zone. Part of Nawalparasi west of Daunne will also be included in this province.

The sixth province will have Seti, Mahakali and Karnali zones. Surkhet, Dailekh and Jajarkot districts of Bheri will also be part of this province.

Earlier, the four parties had agreed to consider identity and viability as basis of creating federal provinces. But when they struck a 16-point deal on 8 June, they decided to determine names and boundaries of federal provinces only after promulgating the new constitution.

Madhesi and Janajati parties rejected the 16-point deal by dubbing it as a ploy to sabotage the agenda of federalism. They demanded names and boundaries of federal provinces before promulgation of the new constitution.

Although the four parties have drawn the map of federal Nepal, names of federal provinces are still undecided. As per the 16-point deal, future provincial councils will have rights to name their respective federal provinces.

Go back to previous page          Bookmark and Share         

4 Responses to “Federalism deal signed”

  1. Deepti Gurung on Says:

    what about citizenship through mothers? any news?

  2. Kamal Thapa on Says:

    finally some good news.

  3. David Seddon on Says:

    five men determine the future of millions! disgraceful. tragedy or farce?

  4. SK on Says:

    @ David, democracy?

Leave a Reply