Nepali Times Asian Paints

Back to Main Page

Meet the new cabinet of ministers

Tuesday, February 25th, 2014

Two weeks after being elected the prime minister of the country, Sushil Koirala has finally formed his cabinet of ministers today.

Prime Minister Koirala administered the oath of secrecy to new NC and UML ministers in presence of President Ram Baran Yadav at Shital Niwas on Tuesday evening. Nepali Congress leader Ram Sharan Mahat, who had already taken his oath along with the prime minister two weeks ago, was given his ministerial responsibilities as Finance Minister.

Nepali Congress and CPN-UML were tied in internal discussion since Sunday to finalise the list of candidates to take ten ministerial positions each. Government formation became possible only after Koirala decided to offer Ministry of Home Affairs to UML. Although cabinet formation was expected to take place on Monday evening, the two parties could not complete their list. Discussions began early today and NC and CPN-UML finally completed their nominations. RPP and CPN-ML will also head a ministry each, but have not been sworn in yet.

cabinetCPN-UML had supported Sushil Koirala’s candidacy in the election for the prime minister after a seven-point agreement between the two parties. However, UML refused to join the government, claiming that NC had backtracked from its promises, to provide UML with Home Ministry.

List of Nepali Congress ministers

Prakash Man Singh – Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Local Development

Ram Sharan Mahat – Minister of Finance

Mahesh Acharya – Ministry of Forest

Minendra Rijal- Ministry of Information and Communications

Narayan Khadka- Minister of Urban Development

Narahari Acharya- Ministry of Law

Chitra Lekha Yadav- Ministry of Education

NP Saud- Minister of Irrigation

Bimelandra Nidhi- Minister of Physical Planning and Construction

Tek Bahadur Gurung- State Minister for Labour

List of CPN-UML ministers

Bam Dev Gautam – Deputy Prime Minister and Home Ministry

Mahendra Pandey-  Ministry  of Foreign Affairs

Radha Gyawali – Energy Ministry

Purushottam Poudel – Ministry of Youth and Sports

Hari Parajuli –  Ministry of Agriculture

Lal Babu Pandit – Ministry of General Administration

Karna Bahadur Thapa – Ministry of Commerce and Industries

Bhim Acharya –  Ministry of Tourism and Civil Aviation

Khagraj Adhiakry- Ministry of Health and Population

Dal Bahadur Rana – Ministry of Land Reforms and Management


Science, Technology and Environment

Peace and Reconstruction

Cooperatives and Poverty Alleviation

Women, Children and Social Affairs

Commerce and Supplies


Labour and Employment



Go back to previous page          Bookmark and Share         

Leave a Reply